On Thursday 18 November, staff across Geelong Regional Libraries will be staging a 24-hour strike for better wages and conditions.

Geelong Regional Libraries has been ranked as the best public library service in Victoria for six years in a row, but the wages of its staff are some of the lowest in the state. Despite this, the member councils that fund the service have failed to step up, and management is attempting to push through years of below-inflation pay increases. Management has also refused to provide basic safety measures such as accessible car-parking for staff completing shifts after dark at the central CBD library, despite occupational violence being common in public libraries.

Union members and supporters will be gathering outside the Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Geelong West Library and Belmont Library from 8.15am onwards. There’ll be a solidarity barbecue at the Geelong Library & Heritage Centre at 12.30pm.

Public libraries are constantly being starved of funds, and are seen as an easy target by cost-cutting local governments. What happens at any one library service will set a standard that can be replicated by council CEOs against other Victorian public library services.

If you can, support the striking workers by joining them from 8.15am onwards, or come to their barbecue at 12.30pm!

You can also send an email to the Library Board to tell them that you support the striking workers:

Councillor Ron Nelson: rnelson@geelongcity.vic.gov.au
Councillor Susan Salter: susan.salter@queenscliffe.vic.gov.au
Councillor Stephen Hart: councillor.hart@colacotway.vic.gov.au
Councillor Sarah Mansfield: smansfield@geelongcity.vic.gov.au
Councillor Jim Mason: jmason@geelongcity.vic.gov.au
Councillor Liz Pattison: lpattison@surfcoast.vic.gov.au
Councillor Owen Sharkey: cr.osharkey@gplains.vic.gov.au
Councillor Trent Sullivan: tsullivan@geelongcity.vic.gov.au
Vanessa Schernickau (GRLC CEO): info@grlc.vic.gov.au

For more information please contact:
ASU Organiser Will Wyatt | wwyatt@asuvictas.com.au | 0418 320 625

Join the ASU today

Print Friendly, PDF & Email