I want to let you know about changes among the elected officials of our union.

Billy King will serve his last day as Branch Executive President on 30 June this year.

Billy’s made this decision late last year because he wanted to return to his passion of assisting members of our union in the most direct way possible – as an ASU Organiser.

Already Billy has been working with members and delegates in the Loddon Mallee and Wimmera regions as their organiser.

This position of Branch Executive President was created was created to smooth the process of amalgamation when unions from different industries merged to create the ASU.

A few months ago, after Billy let the Branch Executive know of his intention to resign as Branch Executive President, the Branch Executive decided there was no longer a need for the position as we are a fully integrated union representing workers in diverse industries.

So from 1 July the elected officers of the ASU Vic Tas Branch will be Lisa Darmanin as Secretary, Tash Wark as Acting Deputy Secretary, Leon Wiegard as an Assistant Secretary and Ty Lockwood as Acting Assistant Secretary.

On behalf of the elected officials, Branch Executive, and all ASU members, I want to thank Billy for his commitment to an ASU solely focused on members, and his determination to fight for better wages and condition of working people.

Personally, I want to thank him for being an integral part of a team that’s brought real accountability back to the management of the Branch, and for his ongoing friendship.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email