An important part of our recent Delegates Conference was recognising the work of outstanding delegates.

The ASU is fortunate to have such committed delegates and the contribution they make to our union is enormous.

But the work of some delegates deserves special recognition.

Congratulations to each of the award winners – and thank you for the work you do for ASU members at your workplace.

Darrell Cochrane Delegate of the Year
Shirley Neeson from Greater Dandenong City Council was awarded the Carrell Cochran Delegate of the Year Award. Selfless, trusted, professional and determined are just a dew words used to describe Shirley’s contribution as an ASU delegate. She’s a delegate that goes above and beyond for members, always finding time for members and even checking in with them after hours. Shirley is a fantastic delegate who other delegates feel privileged to work beside.

Women’s Tile Award
Maree Rendon from Maribyrnong City Council was awarded the Women’s Tile Award. Maree Rendon has promoted the union to women through her work at Wyndham City Council. From taking the lead in enterprise agreement negotiations through to advocating for policies that predominately effect women to reviewed, Maree has promote the union and shown great representation of her fellow ASU members at Wyndham.

Young Delegate of the Year
Bianca Long from Qantas Airways Premium Contact Centre in Hobart was awarded the Young Delegate of the Year Award for 2019. She was recognised for her contributions in her roles as a delegate in her workplace, where she is actively representing members and participating in consultation on several active issues, and her role as the Youth member on the union’s Branch Executive.

Bracknell Award
Jennifer Hickey was also successful in receiving an award and was awarded the 2019 Bracknell Award. The Bracknell Award is presented for outstanding service to the union movement by a female delegate in Tasmania. Jennifer was recognised for her active involvement outside of the bargaining room in the City of Hobart enterprise agreement negotiations as well as her active recruitment and retention work and willingness to participate in union activities and campaigns outside of work hours.

Health & Safety Representative of the Year
Brett McCaughan, from YSAS was the winner of the Health and Safety Representative of the Year Award. Brett constantly goes above and beyond in his role as a Health and Safety Representative, completing site audits in a timely manner, ensuring every risk is reported and critically, making sure they are fixed as soon as possible. Brett supports staff members when there are incidents including checking in later to see if anything went wrong after the event.

Congratulations to each of the award winners!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email